ArcticFox Configuration for macOS and Linux

Discussion in 'macOS / Linux' started by Hobbyquaker, Jul 13, 2017.

  1. Outerrim

    Outerrim New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    Im still have permission issue as user on Arch,can you please post in which groups you are ?
     
  2. milan

    milan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    one possible way is to create an udev rule which in turn grants 0666 access permissions.
    I found such a rule at https://github.com/Ban3/python-evic/blob/master/udev/99-nuvoton-hid.rules
    Code:
    # HIDAPI/libusb
    SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0416", ATTRS{idProduct}=="5020", MODE="0666"
    
    # HIDAPI/hidraw
    KERNEL=="hidraw*", ATTRS{busnum}=="1", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0416", ATTRS{idProduct}=="5020", MODE="0666"
    You may have to reboot to make systemd regard the rule.
    An alternative would be to make the user a member of root group, but I guess we'd rather avoid this.
     
    Uncle_Brr, Caliban and Hobbyquaker like this.
  3. Outerrim

    Outerrim New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you,its working now :)
     
    milan likes this.
  4. milan

    milan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Is there a way to save the current configuration of a box running AF as json? Configuration has a save option but it is a binary file.
     
  5. Hobbyquaker

    Hobbyquaker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    58
    Sure this would be possible, but I don't want to implement that, wanna keep it like the original NFE Toolbox config tool. The NFE Team implemented the obfuscated binary format for a good reason - manipulating these files would raise the risk of unpredictable behavior of your box if invalid data is send to the device...
     
  6. milan

    milan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    ok, I can understand the reasoning, and it is easy to work around that limitation in order to compare the setup of 2 boxes with diff.
    Thanks for the fast reply :)
     
  7. dmnkhhn

    dmnkhhn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello there!
    First of all, thanks for the hard work you have put into making this possible.

    I'm on Sierra 10.12.6 and I have just downloaded the latest version of your tool.
    My Joyetech Primo Mini doesn't have the new firmware and I thought the installation of this custom firmware as also possible with your tool but I guess I need to find a Windows computer the install the firmware first.

    With the device connected I currently get the following error after starting the software:


    I guess nobody tried to use the software with the wrong firmware. ;-)

    I will try to update my firmware and give this tool another try.
     
  8. Hobbyquaker

    Hobbyquaker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    58
    Correct, Firmware update is only possible with the original NFE Toolbox.
     
  9. dmnkhhn

    dmnkhhn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, I have downloaded the Win 10 VirtualBox Image from Microsoft and the firmware update worked right away.
    I can confirm that the tool works with the latest nightly, so the error above was caused by an incompatible firmware.

    There is currently no way to change the localization. Could you please include a settings menu? I would love to see the original english localization even though my system is set the german. :D
     
  10. Hobbyquaker

    Hobbyquaker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    58
  11. Ku6ep

    Ku6ep New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, all! How can I setup custom firmware to the device on Mac?
     
  12. Hobbyquaker

    Hobbyquaker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    58
    I think you will find the answer if you scroll up 4 posts :)
     
  13. Superfebs

    Superfebs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you for making this! <3
     
  14. rage87

    rage87 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Very good job. Thank you very much. Arcticfox conf works like a charm on Linux Mint 17.04 with KDE!
    Building the deb was quite hard because I had various problems with npm run dist. This is what I did to successfully build the deb:

    Prerequesits
    • Installing npm:
      sudo apt install npm
    • Installing latest node.js:
      curl -sL https://deb.nodesource.com/setup_6.x | sudo -E bash -
      sudo apt install -y nodejs

    • Installing required utilities:
      sudo apt install icnsutils graphicsmagick xz-utils rpm bsdtar
    • Updating npm to latest version:
      sudo npm install npm -g
    I don't know, if all the utilities are needed, but without icnutils and graphicsmagick I wasn't able to build the deb properly. If found this "solution" at https://github.com/electron-userland/electron-builder/issues/1407 where a user mentioned the linux instructions for using electron on Linux.

    Build the DEB
    Maybe this could be any useful ;)
    Thanks!!
     
    Superfebs likes this.
  15. rage87

    rage87 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
  16. ReikoKitsune

    ReikoKitsune Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    572
    No problem. Spam protection prevents from posting links and other base keywords until you will not gain 5+ messages on the forum.
    New post with a links should be approved manually.
     
    rage87 likes this.
  17. Superfebs

    Superfebs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for your handy guide! I would also add, for newcomers, apt install git :)

    Aside,
    is there a reason why the latest firmware doesn't come within the git repo? License issues maybe?

    Thanks :-D
     
  18. rage87

    rage87 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, this is a good idea! Since I've never used npm or electron - in contrast to git - I did not even think about git :rolleyes: Unfortunately, I've to write two more posts, before I have the opportunity to edit it. I will take care of it as soon as possible.
     
    Superfebs likes this.
  19. Superfebs

    Superfebs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hem, I just tried to build on another PC and realized that this is also needed:

    sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0-dev gconf2
    The first is needed to build the package.
    The second to install the .deb that is found in dist/ after the build.

    Hope this helps any newcomers. :)
     
    Red White likes this.
  20. rage87

    rage87 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cool, which distribution did you use? As far as I know, Debian-based (*Ubuntu-) systems do not require this Installation.
     
    #40 rage87, Sep 2, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017