Joyetech Espion Solo 80w TouchScreen

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by HydrAxx, Mar 30, 2018.

  1. SH9193

    SH9193 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you!!!! 2020 still livin the life with espion solo
     
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  2. Kisomen

    Kisomen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello Guys,
    just wanted to say thank You for the great job, that You`ve done regarding the Espion Solo. It works like a dream :)
     
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  3. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    1,501
  4. jurgen

    jurgen New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you!!!
    Greetings
     
    slavyk and maelstrom2001 like this.
  5. Fldan

    Fldan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    @maelstrom2001 ,
    Hi maelsrtrom. I did
    1. Close NToolbox completely (right click icon in tray -> Exit).
    2. Download, unpack and start FLDROM.
    3. Connect Espion Solo with original firmware.
    4. Check that LDROM Updater detected the box:
      [​IMG]
    5. Click Update button.
    6. Close FLDROM.
    7. Start NToolbox and flash attached ArcticFox build the same way you've flashed your Primo.
    But NToolbox did not recognize the device. I did an other LDROM updater and close the program. Then I disconnected the device, took out the battery and now it looks to be bricked. My first day. Changed ports and cables, screen is dead, no fire. Anything that can be done? Not even the Joytech updater does not recognize the device. Is this dead forever? Yes, it is a Solo touch 80W. Thank you in advance.
    PS I've read and done Products Manual p. 7.3 all variants, including the lock button you mentioned. NToolbox — Firmware Updater does not see anything
     
    #65 Fldan, Jul 28, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2020
  6. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    1,501
    Hello!
    Is NToolbox Updater show "Waiting for device..." or something else? Reboot PC and try again please.
    Connecting the Solo without battery and pressed Lock button will put it in Safe Mode. But! Only after successful update of LDROM.
    OEM LDROM have no this feature as I wrote above.
     
  7. Fldan

    Fldan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thank you for the fast reply. I've rebooted the PC the same. NToolbox Updater shows "Waiting for device..." when connected without battery and lock button pressed. The FLDROM exe shows "disconnected". Joytech updater the same.
    What I did initially: Ran the FLDROM - result "done". Closed theFLDROM .Ran NToolbox Updater did not rcognize anything. Ran again FLDROM - disconnected. Closed al programs and disconnected USB. Nothing on the screen. Removed the battery - the same.
    And now I'm stuck in this. You may know better (as you took it apart), is there any reset button on the board itself? If that helps, there is 4.2V (used the voltmeter) on the + and - when connected to usb. Is is done and dusted? Or there is a last resort? Really appreciated, thank you.
    PS Worth mentioning that I just tried now and my VTC mini boots in Safe Mode, no problem. Same PC, same cable.
     
    #67 Fldan, Jul 28, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2020
  8. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    1,501
    It seems that was something wrong with USB in box. Despite the fact that LDROM updating is fast, a disconnection could have occurred, or something else which may lead to USB (or MCU) died. USB failure may causes LDROM corruption, and MCU became a brick. Or voltage spike/short circuit in jack or cable/etc. may kill the MCU. Anyway, I think it is completely dead, sorry.
    Unfortunately, no.
     
  9. Fldan

    Fldan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. My loss. Shame I used it for only 1 day and I liked it. Best regards
     
  10. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    1,501
    It's just a bad luck. Really sorry.
     
  11. chpok

    chpok New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks bro! Now I'm getting consistent temp control and the device never powers off after reaching 10s fire cut-off point. The battery last's longer too. Good job and thanks for contributing!
     
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  12. kwonton

    kwonton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Is the Espion Silk 80w supported? Thank you for all of your amazing work btw! Can’t express how much i love your firmwares. Better than dna in many respects. Would love to see you release support for the Grus as well! You guys are the best!!!
     
  13. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    1,501
    Hello @kwonton, thank you for using our products :)
    AFAIK, Joyetech did not publish firmware for this mod, so it can not be supported at present. You may try to ask for it Joyetech directly.
     
  14. DaweNovak

    DaweNovak New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    @maelstrom2001 WOW ! You are the boss .. my Espion Solo display was stuck .. now I can puff again :D :D ...thanks a lot man !
     
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  15. mulderfbi

    mulderfbi New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    @maelstrom2001 You are the best!!! I had my SOLO for 3 years and since day one i wanted to use AF firmware. It is still working perfect, and now with AF onboard i am making it again my daily driver, thanx to YOU !!! Thank you for porting this beautiful FW to Espion Solo for all of us.

    Best regards,
     
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  16. mulderfbi

    mulderfbi New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    @maelstrom2001 Hi, am i the only one that can hear clicking sound while the screen is on....? I have noticed it the other day, when it was quiet around me. It`s a steady frequency and as soon as the screen turns of it stops. It is atomizer dependable, because with the atomizer on, the frequency is like 2 times per second, and without the atomizer it is like 4 times per second. It is the same in power mode and in temp. mode. I am using this FW: solo_190618
     
  17. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    1,501
    Hello!
    Nope :) It's atomizer probing with short current pulses. It's normal behavior. If you're set "Live Resistanse" or "Coil Temperature" on screen layout, these click might be a bit louder.
     
  18. mulderfbi

    mulderfbi New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    aha....so the only way to avoid this is to remove the "Live resistance" from the screen?
    It` s not a big deal, but is it possible that this probing is affecting battery life, or i am imagining this...? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  19. mulderfbi

    mulderfbi New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    aha....so the only way to avoid this is to remove the "Live resistance" from the screen?
    It` s not a big deal, but is it possible that this probing is affecting battery life, or i am imagining this...? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

    P.S. i``v noticed that there is a "Resistance" only option on the two other screen layouts, which are not available with this FW, because it is not official. Is it possible to include it to the "Foxy" layout and would this fix the probing issue if i choose it instead the "Live resistance"?
     
    #79 mulderfbi, Sep 11, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2021
  20. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    1,501
    Yes, about 0,1% :D
    Nevermind it. Some boxes are clicking, some not.
     
    mulderfbi likes this.