Unofficial Lost Vape - Quest Chip (Grus, Ursa, Cyborg, BTB, Thelema, Centaurus)

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by mixHup, Oct 14, 2020.

  1. tim_buktu

    tim_buktu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    64
    Thank you @copyman,
    but it is not the first choice for DNA type controller? Colors and orientation are flipped and sizes don't match exactly.
    Does it fit for Grus/Ursa perfectly instead?
    I thought to order some in advance as spare parts...
     
  2. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    Please try attached boot and AF build.
     

    Attached Files:

    TinaEire and Madslim like this.
  3. Madslim

    Madslim New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi, sorry for late reply, and thanks for your fast response.
    I already flash, both boot and AF firmware, mapping button now correct, but screen orientation still upsidedown.
    I also face error when change HW to 1.01


    Corrected, screen orientation and color also fix by changing HW to 1.01

    Thanks again to developer @maelstrom2001 and the community
     

    Attached Files:

    #323 Madslim, Oct 25, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2021
    TinaEire and maelstrom2001 like this.
  4. tedstriker

    tedstriker New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was able to make this work on a grus v2. thanks a ton!
     
    TinaEire and maelstrom2001 like this.
  5. tedstriker

    tedstriker New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is anyone else having a problem getting the grus to go into circle or classic mode? for me it stays on foxy regardless of how its set.
     
  6. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    I'm here :D
    Themes for this display resolution are not implemented, sorry.
     
  7. kodama

    kodama New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hello :)

    I was able to load Thelema Quest (2.0) into DFU mode, data pins are moved to SBU instead of CC.
    Also noticed I got a HID device when connecting USB with up+select pressed which I'm thinking could allow going to DFU mode, however I didn't do anything with that and went to DFU by shorting pin 1+5 :p
    Dumped the firmware with dfu-util and stopped there for now.
     

    Attached Files:

    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  8. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    Hello!
    Wow, thank you so much for your help, great work!
    Still have no spare time to take apart my Thelema and make a cable, but, thanks to you, we can move forward.
    Hmm... Do I see the same as you: 0x08000000..0x08001FFF looks like bootloader and app start from 0x08002000? :rolleyes:
    Update: yep, Thelema have bootloader. But it seems that it is used for firmware update from SPI flash. Probably, main application have HID-compliant interface for uploading firmware in SPI flash, then box mod restarts and bootloader updates the app.
     
    #328 maelstrom2001, Nov 6, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2021
  9. kodama

    kodama New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    I grabbed the USB information in that mode
    Code:
        ---------------------- Device Descriptor ----------------------
    bLength                  : 0x12 (18 bytes)
    bDescriptorType          : 0x01 (Device Descriptor)
    bcdUSB                   : 0x200 (USB Version 2.00) -> wrong, device is Full-Speed only
    bDeviceClass             : 0x00 (defined by the interface descriptors)
    bDeviceSubClass          : 0x00
    bDeviceProtocol          : 0x00
    bMaxPacketSize0          : 0x40 (64 bytes)
    idVendor                 : 0x0483 (STMicroelectronics)
    idProduct                : 0x5750
    bcdDevice                : 0x0200
    iManufacturer            : 0x01 (String Descriptor 1)
     Language 0x0409         : "YK_Update"
    iProduct                 : 0x02 (String Descriptor 2)
     Language 0x0409         : "HID_Drive"
    iSerialNumber            : 0x03 (String Descriptor 3)
     Language 0x0409         : "208038758240"
    bNumConfigurations       : 0x01 (1 Configuration)
    Data (HexDump)           : 12 01 00 02 00 00 00 40 83 04 50 57 00 02 01 02   .......@..PW....
                               03 01                                             ..
    I also tried AF boot for Ursa and it rebooted to load firmware in Firmware Updater, set HW to 1.01 but after flashing it doesn't want to enumerate USB unless it's in DFU.

    Update: I brought it back to life by doing this
    Code:
    Warning: Invalid DFU suffix signature
    A valid DFU suffix will be required in a future dfu-util release
    Opening DFU capable USB device...
    Device ID 0483:df11
    Device DFU version 011a
    Claiming USB DFU Interface...
    Setting Alternate Interface #0 ...
    Determining device status...
    DFU state(10) = dfuERROR, status(10) = Device's firmware is corrupt. It cannot return to run-time (non-DFU) operations
    Clearing status
    Determining device status...
    DFU state(2) = dfuIDLE, status(0) = No error condition is present
    DFU mode device DFU version 011a
    Device returned transfer size 2048
    DfuSe interface name: "Internal Flash  "
    Downloading element to address = 0x08000000, size = 131072
    Erase           [=========================] 100%       131072 bytes
    Erase    done.
    Download        [=========================] 100%       131072 bytes
    Download done.
    File downloaded successfully
    Then I tried GRUS dfu and then 210331 but it went back to zombie lol
     
    #329 kodama, Nov 6, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2021
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  10. kodama

    kodama New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    I got it to work, somewhat :D
    Have to have battery connected after flashing bootloader for device to appear and keep battery while flashing firmware.
    Then, in order for AF to open, have to connect USB and open AF and try to set HW version. Can't seem to wake up the device initially without doing that.
    Some bootloaders the screen was either upside down or inverted, the fire button doesn't do anything, the select button turns the screen on and off or puts in stealth mode if its held. If the screen orientation is correct then the buttons go up and down as expected. The B2B one with the accompanying firmware turns up the wattage to max automatically. Grus BL doesn't change screen orientation when changing HW version.
    If I press the select button while disconnecting USB it attempts to fire the atomizer continually xD

    Update: I got it to change the HW version to 1.01 and then flipped screen in AF configuration so it looks correct. Buttons are still not mapped correctly. It says atomizer not found when disconnecting USB so it may be trying to fire at that point too...
     

    Attached Files:

    #330 kodama, Nov 6, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2021
    widyahong, TinaEire and maelstrom2001 like this.
  11. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    Too many conditions to make it work, but nice try, thank you. I think that there is no point in using the OEM bootloader, and I'll switch to reverse the firmware itself.
    The only thing I promise for sure is that it will work in 2021 :D Stay tuned and care yourself.
    Regards,
     
    widyahong, TinaEire and kodama like this.
  12. jires

    jires New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys.
    When you plug it in, it just starts charging. I short the necessary pins and the DFU mod does not start. Any idea, please?
    I have it wired correctly. Is it possible that there is a different component used?
     
  13. TinaEire

    TinaEire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    33
    What Mod are you using?
    For me it worked to use a USB 2.0 Hub. The USB 3 and 2 Sockets on the PC where not recognising the my Grus and Ursa with the correct build cable.
    Did your screen of the Mod turn on when you shorten the contacts and you pluged in the USB cable? If it still turns on after shortening the contacts (BOOT0 and GND) then the Mod is not in DFU Mode.

    If you have any pictures that might help aswell
     
  14. jires

    jires New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering if some of the components are different than in the other GRUS mod. I hear the Chinese do that, when they run out of one part, they replace it with another.
    I used USB 2. The screen turns on after shorting the contacts. The procedure is exactly according to the instructions and pictures here on the forum.

    IMG_20211111_180707262_HDR.jpg IMG_20211111_180826810_HDR.jpg
     
  15. TinaEire

    TinaEire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    33
    The screen should stay dark when you boot in DFU Mode. If the screen turns on the Grus is not in DFU Mode.
    Disconnect the USB cable, then short the 2 contacts and then connect the USB cable and wait for the PC to find the STM device in DFU mode AND then the contacts can be relised The screen has to stay dark.
     
  16. kwonton

    kwonton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hey guys! So I picked up the newer version of the Grus and using my cable from my previous Grus was able to enter Dfu mode. However, now I cannot for the life of me get it to be recognized by nfe updater? Perhaps, did I flash the wrong boot file? Or perhaps am using in the wrong NFetools build or maybe even the wrong bin file? Any help is very much appreciated
     
  17. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    Hello!
    The first firmware upload after flashing the bootloader should be done in Safe Mode: press and hold Fire button while connecting to the Firmware Updater.
    Did you make a dump of OEM firmware before flashing bootloader?
     
  18. kwonton

    kwonton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    Im not sure what that means so I did not
    However I did hold the power button to try and initiate safe mode. However, nothing appears and Grus is not recognized by updater.
    Should I be using boot.dfu, boot_btb.dfu, or boot_grus.dfu
     
  19. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    But first please:
    1. Put Grus in DFU Mode.
    2. Start DfuSe Demo.
    3. Make a dump: see buttons in "Upload Action" frame, choose a file and upload it, then zip and attach here.
    [​IMG]
     
  20. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    I'll add a warning in the post with files: before flash anything in DFU Mode make a dump.
    Newer hardware versions may have a bit different pinouts, so if the device not started with default bootloader and firmware, we have to make corrections in them to run on newer mods.