Unofficial Lost Vape - Quest Chip (Grus, Ursa, Cyborg, BTB, Thelema, Centaurus)

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by mixHup, Oct 14, 2020.

  1. kwonton

    kwonton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
     

    Attached Files:

  2. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    @kwonton thanks, I see that Grus now have startup similar to Thelema. The main app starts from 0x08002000, not as early Grus (0x08000000). And it seems that OEM bootloader is similar to Thelema bootloader.
    Did you try to flash boot_grus.dfu? If not, please do not do that, I have to check pinout from the OEM firmware.
     
  3. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    @kwonton I'm loosing. Is your Grus, which dump you posted here, working with OEM firmware now?
    I've asked that cause I see in your dump the new bootloader (OEM, not our) and the main app. It seems that the Grus you've dumped stays in OEM state and should work. But if you've flashed the some our boot, the dump should look absolutely different.
     
  4. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    Well, good news :) would you like to tell us what went wrong while the first attempt?
     
  5. kwonton

    kwonton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    Most likely i was using the wrong boot file? I have several downloaded, so that did not help. Unfortunately, now the issue i am running into is that the "device is too hot" warning is making the device unusable as it is going off far far to early. Any idea what might be causing this, and what is the most current AF firmware for the 2nd grus?
     
  6. TinaEire

    TinaEire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    34
    From what I could see from the photos you posted, you have the 1st version of the Grus pcb.
    What bootloader file did you use and what AF file were you flashing?
     
  7. kwonton

    kwonton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    I actually have both versions. The most recent one with the dna style menus and green chopped “carbon fiber” is the one having issues. I used boot_grus and version 211024
     
  8. TinaEire

    TinaEire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    34
    Are the photos you posted of the 1st Grus or the 2nd one?
    Did you safe the original/fatoy FW with the DFUDemo software of the Grus V2?
     
  9. kwonton

    kwonton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    Which photo (post#) are you referring to? And yes I think I may have?
     
  10. TinaEire

    TinaEire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Deleted because I was wrong]
    And did you made a backup of the original FW of the Grus V2 (the one you have trouble with) and would you please post it here as it might help other people to help you !?

    EDIT: Sorry I mixed that up and you did not post any photos.
     
    #350 TinaEire, Nov 16, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2021
  11. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    Not a problem. Go to "Main Menu" -> "Settings" -> "Advanced" -> "Temp" switch to "Int".
     
    TinaEire likes this.
  12. kodama

    kodama New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    I tried to learn how to work with this dump in radare2 and navigate :confused:
    There's a function at 0x00011be8 that contains some nice strings. This device has 4 buttons and there's bkey1,bkey2,bkey3,bkey4.
    There was also "bat", "fla", "ok", "ng", "out", "ntc"
    Maybe this helps? :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • fla.png
      fla.png
      File size:
      14.5 KB
      Views:
      52
    • bat.png
      bat.png
      File size:
      16 KB
      Views:
      47
    • ntc.png
      ntc.png
      File size:
      14.6 KB
      Views:
      46
    • ok.png
      ok.png
      File size:
      13.6 KB
      Views:
      44
    • ng.png
      ng.png
      File size:
      14 KB
      Views:
      44
    • out.png
      out.png
      File size:
      13.3 KB
      Views:
      44
    • key1.png
      key1.png
      File size:
      18.2 KB
      Views:
      42
    • key2.png
      key2.png
      File size:
      16.5 KB
      Views:
      44
    • key3.png
      key3.png
      File size:
      13.6 KB
      Views:
      44
    • key4.png
      key4.png
      File size:
      17.3 KB
      Views:
      45
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  13. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    I'm going to make a cable, but it turned out that Thelema works with previous (data on CC), in the "position of GRUS" :D
     
    kodama and TinaEire like this.
  14. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    Thank you. These are traces of the debug console, in Grus it is at USART1, probably the same here :)
     
    kodama likes this.
  15. kodama

    kodama New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    If it's the same cable as post #38 the pins of CC/SBU are short so your cable is universal lol
    I probed with multimeter with the breakout board connected to verify no continuity at CC
     
  16. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    Nope, this cable :)
    First I made cable on your pinout, data -> SBU, but it didn't work. Then just out of curiosity I took the cable for Grus/Ursa, and...
    Our boxes may be different, so your Thelema's pinout may be an option of non-standard Type C, and it's good to know that.
    P. S. Lol, on some breakouts pins are enumerated from left to right, on others - backward. Maybe because both female and male jacks has similar footprint and them can be swapped?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    #356 maelstrom2001, Nov 17, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2021
  17. kodama

    kodama New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    Mine included a tank, which iirc there were some difference before with other quest (of course the usb cable on mine was 5v/ground only)

    Smaller PCB, less layers, etc. reduce production cost...
     

    Attached Files:

  18. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    WIP on Thelema :)
    Found BOOT0 circuit on the bottom layer (probably, we have to short the capacitor at the right part of the frame to enter DFU mode, warning: untested IRL):
    [​IMG]
    The MCU pinout is similar to Ursa, except the Fire button and the balancer control. And, of course, there is no step-up shoulder of the DC/DC converter.
    The passive balancer is controlled by MCU, the charger IC is supposed to be a SY6982.

    P. S. Added pinout (without ADC yet):
    [​IMG]
     
    #358 maelstrom2001, Nov 18, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2021
    widyahong and kodama like this.
  19. kodama

    kodama New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    7
    If so (again untested) then I think it can also be done by scooting the battery ribbon to the side and carefully inserting a metal tool to jumper. No disassembly :cool:
    Board is upside down from your image when mounted :p
     

    Attached Files:

    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  20. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    Tested, everything is right. Please be careful and do not short VDD and GND.
    Added MCU pinout, restored partially from OEM firmware and partially with multimeter.