Unofficial Lost Vape - Quest Chip (Grus, Ursa, Cyborg, BTB, Thelema, Centaurus)

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by mixHup, Oct 14, 2020.

  1. wdanielw

    wdanielw New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Work using voopoo cable.
    Logotype not work for me.
    I have ursa quest
     
    maelstrom2001 and rrveex like this.
  2. rrveex

    rrveex Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2021
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    59
    Wow, thanks for that! Voopoo drag3 cable works indeed!
     
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  3. tedstriker

    tedstriker New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    6

    I think its just the light, but are those resisters missing?
    b1.jpg
     
  4. Robson

    Robson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    13
    Nope. I think the device was probably damaged already at the factory - look at how this 6-pin element is soldered ... maybe this is the problem.
    b1.jpg
    And check this post:
    Greetings guys!
     
  5. tedstriker

    tedstriker New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    6
    I got another one and I think I messed it up............

    I uploaded from the upload action part of Dfuse instead of the upgrade and now I can't do anything with it. Is there any way to fix it?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. VoPendragon

    VoPendragon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hopefully in a week I will be posting good news that I've done a Grus AF install successfully! Thank you for all the information waiting on a USB C breakout before starting.
     
  7. joeblowma

    joeblowma Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    80
    "Upload" in this app means "upload from device to pc to the file you choose", in other words you are copying what is on the chip to your PC. If you had meant to flash "boot_grus.dfu" onto the device, you have just overwritten it and will need to get a new copy to upgrade/verify. I always found that confusing/annoying too, and nearly every time I've used dfuse demo I've had to google "dfuse demo manual" to see the explanation for what each bit does!

    The process to get the chip into the mode dfuse demo works with should be unchanged, toggling boot0 on hardware will get you there no matter what is flashed to the device.
     
    maelstrom2001 and Robson like this.
  8. Yato Thetraveler

    Yato Thetraveler New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    man,i hope there a way to update the sotfware without messing with the chip,im not an enginering like your guy ;-;
     
  9. tedstriker

    tedstriker New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    6

    You are right I must have been not connecting the boot pins right. I was able to make it work. Thanks!
     
    maelstrom2001 and joeblowma like this.
  10. Maximo04

    Maximo04 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey ! I just bought an centaurus quest (squonk) and wanted to try this firmware. Do i still need to do an modified USB C ? and if yes, any ideas on how to do it without soldering ? Many thanks !
     
  11. Robson

    Robson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    13
    First of all - all answers are in this topic.
    Anyway - You can use modified USB C cable or original ARGUS GT/ Drag 3 USB C cable.
    If you use ARGUS GT/ Drag 3 USB C cable - you don't have to solder anything, also in Centaurus.

     
    tim_buktu and maelstrom2001 like this.
  12. tim_buktu

    tim_buktu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    65
    Hi there, I can renew my offer I made earlier: At the moment I have material left to make two of these cables, right now.
    If necessary could order some more.
    If you're calling from australia, keep an eye on the shipping costs and customs. ;)
    Inside germany or europ will be easy...
    If you're interested let me know.
     
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  13. Delta8Girl

    Delta8Girl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I got an Ursa Quest and i’m planning to install AF, but I have a few questions. This is my first AF mod but I have extensive soldering/circuitry experience.
    1. I got this male USBC breakout board(Pictures attached). I understand I need to connect the data wires to the CC pins, but they aren’t labeled as that. Where do I solder to, the pins are labeled “B10 B11 A7 A6 A3 A2 A1” and the + - are on the other side.

    2. Will any version of Arctic Fox work, or do I need a specific one for the Quest?

    3. Do I need to provide Dfuse with any files to make it install the bootloader, or is it built into the software?

    Thanks in advance for any help. I will be attempting to install it tomorrow.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. rrveex

    rrveex Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2021
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    59
    Hi @Delta8Girl ,

    1. unfortunately, your breakout board won't do, you need pins A5/B5 for CC1/CC2 - https://duckduckgo.com/?q=usb+c+pinout

    2. specific version, search this thread, you'll find link(s)

    3. separate file for bootloader, flash with dfuse; then start NFE Toolbox, that will flash the firmware file. You have everything you need in this thread, please read from the beginning.

    The most important part is to find out whether your device has a STM32 or Nuvoton chipset (the latter isn't supported)
     
    tim_buktu and Robson like this.
  15. tim_buktu

    tim_buktu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    65
    Is the URSA concerned by the chip replacement, also? I did not know that :confused:, I only knew about the Thelema with two cells, so far.
    The Thelema Solo is different anyway.
     
  16. Frank65

    Frank65 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello

    I have Grus new version and when i connect it to usb I have message "Unknown usb device , Device Descriptor Request Failed"
    Cable should be ok , same as others working here.
    I'm connected through USB 2 hub to win 10 , tried 2 computers same error

    Any suggestion would be appreciated , thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  17. rrveex

    rrveex Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2021
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    59
    I don't know, but it's quite possible.
     
  18. rrveex

    rrveex Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2021
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    59
    Hi @Frank65 ,

    please see my comment just 2 places above your question. A5/B5 for CC1/CC2. Not only have you connected A8/B8 instead, but the wires also touch other lines, that isn't quite OK.

    c1.jpg c2.jpg

    This is how mine looks like. On the "back" I also connected the power lines together, otherwise it didn't work.
     
    Frank65 likes this.
  19. Frank65

    Frank65 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks @rrveex for your answer , I will try ... I'm not soldering since eighties .. ;)
     
    rrveex likes this.
  20. Robson

    Robson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    13
    Try disconnect and invert the plug like in my older post, probably will be ok.
    View attachment 1306
     
    Frank65 likes this.