Unofficial Lost Vape - Quest Chip (Grus, Ursa, Cyborg, BTB, Thelema, Centaurus)

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by mixHup, Oct 14, 2020.

  1. Delta8Girl

    Delta8Girl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So in my testing, If the Data wires are not right the computer doesn’t detect the device at all. Regardless, that’s all very helpful, I’m going to resolder the cable and trace connections to the threads. Thanks.
     
  2. seedmass

    seedmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    maelstrom2001 I've been using AF on the Grus for over a year. I bought another one recently with the 2.0 chip but for some reason, it keeps saying "device too hot". I have tried changing temp to Int in settings but, it still says "device too hot". Any ideas?
     
  3. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Hello!
    Please provide temperature values in standby (Int & Ext channels) and the same while using.
     
  4. seedmass

    seedmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the fast replay!
    Standby: Ext 78F, Int 90F
    Triger of "device to hot": Ext 170F, Int 170F
     
  5. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    1,584
  6. seedmass

    seedmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
  7. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Overheating of the MCU really bothers me. Int 170F is really too much.
    I can add option to switch off this protection at all. But... under your responsibility ;)
     
  8. seedmass

    seedmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'll do some testing, I don't mind the risk! Is it something with the software not reading right or is it actually getting hotter? Also whats the difference between Ext and Int?
    Thanks again!
     
    #508 seedmass, Apr 10, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2022
  9. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Ext channel is for thermistor placed on the PCB, Int is internal MCU temperature sensor.
    In your case Int is also getting hot. There should be no defference between MCU's used in old and newer revisions, so it looks like MCU really overheats.
     
  10. seedmass

    seedmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've tested a few of them and they all have the same problem. Is the chip just bad?
     
  11. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Probably, it is PCB design issue. Anyway, tonight I'll upload here modified build.
     
  12. seedmass

    seedmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, I attached the bin as well.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Go to "Main Menu" -> "Settings" -> "Advanced" -> "Temp":
    • short Fire button click - switch between Int and Ext, as earlier;
    • long press Fire button - enable/disable (Off) sensor.

    Build removed for safety reason.
     
    #513 maelstrom2001, Apr 10, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2022
  14. seedmass

    seedmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    So I did some testing and it looks like the MOSFETs get hot and trigger the error. I tried the Ursa boot and it seemed to keep the board at 110 when firing. What's the difference between the Ursa and Grus boot? If the mod doesn’t overheat when on the Ursa firmware could that means its a software issue?
     
    #514 seedmass, Apr 11, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2022
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  15. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Thank you!
    Is your Grus 2.0 working correctly with Ursa boot?
    Early Grus and Ursa have different pinouts. I'll take a look for the OEM 2.0 firmware (post #341), maybe I missed something.
     
  16. seedmass

    seedmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for taking a look. Yes, it seems to be working with the Ursa boot without heating up.
     
    maelstrom2001 likes this.
  17. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    You're absolutely right, it is software issue. Thank you!
    Here is the difference between early and newer PCBs:
    [​IMG]
    Indeed, Grus 2.0 should be flashed with Ursa bootloader because of hardware changes.
     
    widyahong and seedmass like this.
  18. seedmass

    seedmass New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Glad there's a solution, is there any need to edit the Ursa bootloader or should it work without issues?
     
  19. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Nope. Different bootloaders are intended for hardware identification in ArcticFox since it is unified. As Grus 2.0 have the same hardware as Ursa, the only issue is "wrong" device name in Firmware Updater.
    I can, of course, make a separate boot for the updated Grus and add it to the firmware, but is it worth it? :)
    P. S. For now I just added a warning about it.
     
  20. nckarm4

    nckarm4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2022
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, Thanks for all your work in the firmware and your time. I was wondering if you knew if Lost vape thelema quest 200W can be flashed with red panda?Here it is implied it can be but not sure, Is it just a normal flash like a wismec or joyetech or anything else needs to be done?

    Thanks again,