[P10] ArcticFox 170819

Discussion in 'ArcticFox Builds' started by maelstrom2001, Aug 19, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    864

    English:

    charging current limitation, for multi-cells boxes and Pico 25:
    Main Menu -> Expert -> USB -> Limit. By default after update current is limited to 0,5 amps, so change this setting to desired value if you're charging batteries in mod. After Dataflash Reset it will be setted to max. available (performing this action is not necessary).
    Russian:

    ограничение тока зарядки, для мультибатарейных модов и Pico 25:
    Main Menu -> Expert -> USB -> Limit. По умолчанию после обновления ток ограничен 0,5 А, установите необходимый лимит вручную. После сброса Dataflash лимит устанавливается на максимально возможный (сброс делать не обязательно).
     
    Jiri Kabrt, Caliban, punkt and 4 others like this.
  2. Паввел

    Паввел New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    coool
     

    Attached Files:

    djonnytt likes this.
  3. Thelastlokean

    Thelastlokean New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    Working good on my Cuboid 200.

    I like the idea of restricting the USB charge to .500 mA.

    I would feel better about USB charging overnight with it limited with regards to the chip overheating and melting down...
     
    maelstrom2001 and ilyxa like this.
  4. Shonk

    Shonk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    I picked up a Cuboid 200 the other day are your battery voltages wacky

    Bat 1 = 4.07 (12 off)
    Bat 2 = 4.19
    Bat 3 = 4.11 (8 off)
    All batteries read 4.19 on my other mod's and are fully charged
    so its just reading them wrong

    BVO works ish but as voltages lower 1 & 3 get more inline with 2 so there's no one size fits all BVO setting

    e.g. atm
    Bat 1 = 3.87 (8 off)
    Bat 2 = 3.95
    Bat 3 = 3.92 (3 off)
     
    #4 Shonk, Aug 21, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2017
  5. Thelastlokean

    Thelastlokean New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    Haven't had much of any issues with that... My old cuboid 150 had issues with uneven discharge and offset issues.

    Are they new batteries? Could be that the Cuboid 200 is actually accurately reading your cells and displaying the difference while stock firmware mods are rounding to the nearest 100 mV? Do you have a good multi-meter to compare the cells voltages and resistances?

    Could quite likely be bad contacts, try cleaning them - there are a lot of them on the bottom on the cuboid.

    To be honest being off 12 mV or 8mV isn't really going to hurt anything... You might loose a total of 30 millawatt hours.
     
  6. Shonk

    Shonk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes they are new crappy 2000 mah batteries that came with it they all read 4.19 and even if i swap them around still the same in bank 1 and 3

    i also fitted my samsung 25r's they also did the same

     
  7. Thelastlokean

    Thelastlokean New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    Interesting. What hardware version do you have? I have 1.00, no battery issues.

    I did give my device a scrub down with contact cleaner and a mild abrasive cleaning with a green not-anti scratch dish sponge.

    To be honest I have only USB charged since getting the cuboid 200... While some say it is bad for the chips, I generally have always had my devices fail because of failing hinges / battery contact springs. Charging at 1 amp my board got up to 130 F, limiting charge to 500 MA it hits 110 F, which is normal when vaping anyways.

    Above all else, I would avoid vaping while USB charging - that is just begging to overheat your board.

    IMO the best device longevity will be achieved by regulated and slow USB charging and only swapping cells when they are being retired.

    It could be grease on contacts?

    I suppose it might be mildly annoying, but IMO with a 3 cell device I only get down to 60-70%.

    I would clean the contacts real good and setup an offset with AF firmware if necessary and accept a tiny loss of capacity.
     
    #7 Thelastlokean, Aug 21, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2017
  8. Shonk

    Shonk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Thelastlokean

    Thelastlokean New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    I got mine from fasttech...

    I do see a hardware difference between them at first glance. Next to my 510 connector, the two screws are visible.

    It seems the corsa version has rubber caps over those screws. Who knows what else is different?
     
  10. Cranio84

    Cranio84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    On my qc200 i have 170720 nightly, if possible update at this nightly using same version of tool i have used for that nightly? Sorry for my bad English

    Inviato dal mio VTR-L09 utilizzando Tapatalk
     
  11. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    864
  12. williamclarkonet

    williamclarkonet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Everything working well on my RX200
     
    ReikoKitsune and maelstrom2001 like this.
  13. spzjulien

    spzjulien Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    updated pico 25, but i cant find, Main Menu -> Expert -> USB -> Limit


    ok found it !

    you can set to 1.0A or 2.0A
     
    #13 spzjulien, Aug 25, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2017
  14. HitzVape

    HitzVape New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anyway you guys can add an option to pick between Fahrenheit and Celsius. I'm sorry if this has been asked before, I would just like to be able to have my device show Fahrenheit.
     
  15. maelstrom2001

    maelstrom2001 Developer
    NFE Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    864
    https://nfeteam.org/forum/threads/board-temp-c-f.498/
    Or use scroll in TC mode. When you decrease or increase temperature it will stop at 100 or 315 C. Release regulatory button and press again - units will be switched to F. Just like in the original firmware, by the way.
     
    milstep likes this.
  16. HitzVape

    HitzVape New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you!
     
  17. batolis

    batolis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. DAMAGEDatheCORE

    DAMAGEDatheCORE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Getting Atomizer Short and Atomizer Low messages with this build on a Predator 228 with a dual coil 4 wrap parallel fused Clapton coming in around 0.09 Ohms. This is in a Smok TFV12 RBA deck. I've inspected the coil for any shortable contact points and found none. The coil legs are all screwed in nice and snug.

    On another deck (Cheetah II RDA), I have a dual coil 4 wrap fused registering around 0.08 Ohms, and it's given me no Atomizer Short or Atomizer Low messages at all.

    I'll rebuild the coils in the TF-V12 and see if anything changes.

    I've also noticed that in TC mode with the Cheetah II, it's barely ramping up the wattage. This worked fine on the older fw build from June.
     
    Dadasuprem likes this.
  19. Paxster

    Paxster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    @maelstrom2001
    Is there any chance you can have a user setting for the charging screen please?
    When charging you get the rate of charge in amps, then it switches to the batteries percentage and back again. Can you do a setting in Arcticfox so i can select what i want at all times. IE I want to see the rate of charge at all times rather than percentage.

    There is a valid reason why i would like this lol.
    Regards And Thank You Paxster;-)
     
  20. Sobol

    Sobol New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Please do so that on rx200 instead of the battery icon, you could set the charge percentage
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.